What’s going in my holiday handbag


In a couple of weeks I’ll be jetting off to New York, followed by Dallas Fort Worth, then heading back up to New York.

Obviously my passport & tickets & travel insurance will be going in there, but what else?

My iPod (or Pod of eye as it is more affectionately known), at least two books, we have a stop in Amsterdam so there will be alot of waiting around, also plane films? Usually they suck. My toy I have had since I was born will be coming with me, well, I couldn’t exactly leave him at home to miss out on all the fun could I! Needless to say there will be the usual wallet stuff as well.

One of the main things will be my make up and skincare, all in bottles smaller that 100ml. This is where sample sizes come in handy, or of course, the actual holiday size. If your brand does not make holiday size products, and you are all out of samples then head to Boots for some of their travel sized pots to transport your favourite stuff in.

For long haul journeys I normally take face wipes, for when the seatbelt sign has come off, that is the time to remove any dirt and/or make up. I then follow with a slathering of Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream to protect my skin, including my lips. About an hour before landing I like to get those make up wipes working again, and follow them with a swish of Simple toner. Then goes on my moisturiser of choice (I’m still trying to find the right one) followed by ELF cosmetics tinted moisturiser which just evens out my skin tone. Add some Me Me Me Lash out mascara & I am good to go. The 8 hour cream comes out again to act as a lip balm, so I can cram more into may always stuff hand luggage.

There is nothing worse than getting off a plane feeling grimy & dehydrated so I stock up in the duty free with plenty of water, that way avoiding the inevitable dehydration headache. Also in my hand luggage will be flight socks for a long haul flight, you can never be too careful. A hair brush is a must, just to neaten myself up……

This may sound high maintenance, but it’s just good sense, 7 items to keep you feeling at your best.

For short haul flights, I tend to just take the make up wipes, moisturiser, tinted moisturiser & mascara, though the 8 hour cream does go in the hold…. It is so versatile, ideal for hot climates to rehydrate your skin after a day out in the sun & ease sunburn, or it’s ideal for hitting the ski slopes, I find it protects my skin from the harsh element.

What goes in your holiday handbag……..?

About kittiequeen

New to blogging, I have decided to blog about fashion, lifestyle & beauty. I felt that while I enjoy my life, it's not necessarily something other people want to read about. Blogging with sense of purpose (hopefully). All photo's on my profile are supplied by Dark Soul Photography, link to his page further down
This entry was posted in Beauty, fashion, flying, make up, skincare, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to What’s going in my holiday handbag

  1. bargaindiva says:

    The weather in Dallas and Fort Worth is absolutely amazing! Enjoy your holiday!

Leave a comment