Black Bank Holiday


Ok, not black, but very grey, and not the 50 Shades of……

This weekend has been a washout, quite literally on Saturday, I made the mistake of putting my washing out and the skies decided to unleash their worst. While yesterday (Sunday) wasn’t too bad, today is surely making up for it.

With the sky emptying it’s bladder on North Wales it scuppered my good intentions of weeding and general outside tidying up. There was nothing else to do but give in to the lure of the TV and Labyrinth, David Bowie at his finest. Added to this there was the Bi-annual ELLE Collections calling me (along with regular ELLE and good old Marie Claire).

Having not seen Labyrinth since my early teens (think mid 90’s) i had forgotten just how much I enjoyed the film, with it’s 80’s over acting, appalling soundtrack (sorry Mr B, but it’s not your finest work) and luridly bright backdrops. Watching the goblins and other wonderful creatures, this got me thinking about puppetry and how it is becoming lost art in the TV and film industry. These days everything is CGI, and while this is indeed clever (there is nothing happier than an 80’s child watching the Transformer films) it’s a shame that the amazing puppets and their skilled owners are fast vanishing from our screens. Long live the Muppets, Fraggle rock and the Cookie Monster.

While I love fashion, magazines and the actual purchasing of, this time of year depresses me. On the one hand I cannot wait to see Prada’s latest elaborate footwear offering, the Autumn/Winter collections ram home the fact that winter is drawing ever closer. Particularly bad this year as, I don’t know about you, but I am waiting for summer still. This Bank Holiday weather has been so typical of this year that it’s all a bit depressing. Here’s hoping for a pleasant September (but I’m not holding my breath).

About kittiequeen

New to blogging, I have decided to blog about fashion, lifestyle & beauty. I felt that while I enjoy my life, it's not necessarily something other people want to read about. Blogging with sense of purpose (hopefully). All photo's on my profile are supplied by Dark Soul Photography, link to his page further down
This entry was posted in 80's Films, Bank Holiday, David Bowie, fashion, Uncategorized, Weather and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment